The more I travel in Africa, the smaller the world gets.    As I was sitting in on our morning meeting today, my colleague promised, “I bet you run into someone you know here in Monrovia.”  I replied, “Actually I already know of two people working here who I plan on meeting up with,” to which he replied, “There will be someone else you weren’t expecting – trust me, everyone is in Liberia.”

I accepted a dinner invitation with a colleague whom I met in DC months ago.  She told me she was meeting some friends from an NGO for dinner at the swanky sushi restaurant across the street from my apartment – perfect.  As we were walking up to the table of four, I saw J, my Peace Corps friend from Senegal and we nearly rolled on the floor crying/laughing.  I hadn’t seen her in 3 years!  Moreover, she has refused to join Facebook so I haven’t gotten any updates on her although I always wondered.  I was actually the first Peace Corps volunteer she met in Senegal.  I had been there a year when she started training and was sent to my village for a “demystification” visit days upon her arrival.  I like to think I showed her the ropes, you know…how to eat with your right hand, pee in the bush and how to pick the best tailor to make j-crew like dresses with African fabric.

We just spent the last two hours reminisching and gossiping, err…catching up on everyone from Peace Corps Senegal.  It’s amazing how comfortable I feel here, and how many people I know, not having ever been here before.  Like I said in Mali, Peace Corps was the most exclusive club I’ve ever been in – way better than any social club – and the one that keeps on giving and whose network I continually use.