Fanta = Popular soft drink substitute for cola in West Africa

Fanta = Popular girl’s name in West Africa

Fanta = My new cat

It’s a time for changes and on that note, I’ve adopted a cat.  Although initially I wanted a dog, I realized that given my schedule a dog would be too hard to take care of properly. Furthermore, a cat might protect me better from my biggest fear here, rodents.  I haven’t seen any yet (except for the bush rat in the butcher’s department of the grocery store), but better be safe than sorry.  Mostly, I just wanted a companion to come home too. 

 

Fanta

Fanta

 

In relation to other cats in Mali, Fanta is spoiled!  She came from an American family that could not take her to their next post, complete with a 6 month supply of American cat food, litter and was even sported a fancy hot pink collar (to my delight). I wonder how long that collar will stay on her before a neighborhood child will tear it off to wear as a bracelet (a similar thing happened to my Senegalese dog’s fancy chain collar). 


I’m leaving Bamako today and driving back to my town today (8-10 hours). Looking forward to sleeping in my bed again.  I am praying that internet was finally installed in my home during my absence.  I will let you know how Fanta likes her new home. 

FYI, Fanta was found on the U.S. Embassy grounds, the runt of a litter who was the last to get rescued/adopted.  She has already been fixed and vaccinated against several diseases including Rabies.