I listened to Malian music before I ever found out I was moving to Mali. I played it on repeat in the car, at dinner parties, at parties, bbqs, and even made dance CDs of my favorite tunes for OhMommy’s kids to rock out too.

You might be surprised to know that Malian musicians are very popular internationally and perform often with Western pop stars. Because my favorite musicians are are so well-known internationally, I was afraid that they wouldn’t be as popular here. However I have heard my favorite Malian songs blasted from every speaker in town and every car in the country! I couldn’t have asked for a better soundtrack when driving through the windy streets of Bamako or hightailing it through the desert past villages, hills and river crossings.

The following Malian performers listed below are my favorite. I don’t know how to add songs yet, so I added youtube videos of their songs…Please take a look if you are a music fan, or even if you are not.

1. Salif Keita

2. Amadou and Miriam

3. Ali Farka Toure

Salif Keita, a rockstar born a royal Malian family, was ostracized by his family because of his albinoism. He has become one of the most poignant musicians in Mali and due to his success, he’s created a more inclusive culture of acceptance. His lyrical ballads are my favorite, its hard not to get swayed emotionally when listening.

Amadou and Mariam are a married couple who met while they were students at the Bamako Institute for the Blind. The duo has become a national and international pop sensation and have both produced one of my favorite album ever, Dimanche a Bamako (that ohMommy’s kids rock out too!) produced by legendary Manu Chao. One of the best concerts I ever attended was theirs at the Park West theater in Chicago in 2005. Within 30 seconds of A&M appearing on stage, the half yuppie/half African crowd was on their feet shaking their romps all the way through Amadou and Mariam’s 5th encore! It probably looked similar to this, which was recorded just a few weeks ago when Amadou and Miriam played Lollapalooza in Chicago! White men can dance!?

Below is a very interesting National Geographic interview with A&M describing how many different types of music Mali is home too, as well as theories on why their music is so popular abroad…

Last but certainly not least, Ali Farka Toure is probably the best known musician Mali has ever had. The music world mourned this blues sensation after he died last year in his small village near Timbuktu. His music lives on….This is one of my favorite songs (that Diane Lane and Oliver Martinez slow danced to in Unfaithful) that I blast when I need to recompose and take a breather.

Enjoy~