I’ve had some requests for more food pictures.  I’ve only been here a few weeks, so this is all I got, but I will be sure to supplement this post with more displays of markets and local cuisine once I get settled into my town.

There is a restaurant near my office that sells food like pizza, kebabs and chicken, however I soon realized that almost all of the people in my office eat at the office…After inquiring I was told they each person pays a lady on the block to make lunch for them and bring it to the office.  Everyday around 11am, a girl comes by to collect $1 for those of us who would like the local plat du jour.  At that point, you can request either to eat around one bowl in the courtyard or have an individual serving brought to your office.

Below are pictures of the individual portions, since it would be a little awkward to snap pictures of my colleagues while eating around the same bowl.  However, you can get an idea from the pictures of what lunch looks like in Mali.  In general, lunch consists of a grain base, usually rice, complemented with a rich sauce or stew.

Okra sauce with meatLeaf sauce with meat

Top: Okra Sauce with diced onions and meat, Bottom: Leaf sauce

On the way to the office today, I passed the market where scores of people were buying their daily food rations.  Again, there is a store nearby that caters to the expat community and, as a result, sells packaged meat, instant rice, etc…  However the prices there are exorbitant even to Americans, and locals almost never shop there.  They shop at the market. Below is a picture of the butcher stand where the consumer can choose exactly what kind of meat they want, and even have it freshly cut and ground while they are waiting, for no extra charge.  Talk about customer service and knowing exactly what you get!  Warning:  some may find this photo graphic, but in reality, this is the same way meat is delivered to your butcher wherever you may be…it’s just shielded from you, the consumer.

Buying beef at the market

Buying beef at the market